Port Gentil is primarily a business destination centered on the oil and gas industry and the wood industry.  Yet, this quiet oasis is worth a visit and has significant tourism potential. We recommend activities and excursions to our guests to enhance their stay and to explore the area.
With a little preparation, you can discover a very rich fauna and flora as well as the rare opportunity to experience well-preserved, undisturbed nature. The Hotel Tara-Me can put you in contact with organizations to meet your wishes.

SPORT FISHING

Gabon is a country well known for sport fishing and large fish.  From Port Gentil, a variety of fishing techniques are possible (trolling, angling, line fishing, surfcasting, jig, fly fishing …) as are a multitude of species depending on the season: blue marlin, sailfish, dolphin fish, wahoo, yellow tuna, and bonitos in the dry season; tarpon, red carp, barracuda, jackfish, grouper, kingfish, porgy, otolith, threadfin… throughout the year.

Hotel Tara-Mé recommends ocean and river fishing trips and can put you in contact with regional fishing organizations to access mythical sport fishing lagoons such as Olende, Iguela, Sette Cama…

BOATING

Hotel Tara-Mé suggests boat outings to discover the abundance of dolphins and humpback whales swimming in nearby waters from June until the return of the rainy season. With a bit of luck, you might even spot some passing killer whales.

SPORTING EQUIPMENT RENTALS

Hotel Tara-Mé has sporting equipment for rent: tennis and squash rackets, golf bags with full sets of clubs, body boards, diving equipment and spearfishing equipment…

NATURE DISCOVERY

With a richness of 13 national parks, the Gabonese government encourages environmental protection and preservation of biodiversity.  Historically, tourism development has been difficult due to lack of infrastructure and of logistical means as well as expensive transportation costs and the difficulties of obtaining a visa. The irregularity and the lack of reliability does not make the situation any easier.

GABON

Port-Gentil est une destination essentiellement professionnelle tournée autour de l’industrie pétrolière et du bois. Ce petit havre de paix mérite pourtant le détour et possède un potentiel touristique non négligeable. Nous proposons à nos hôtes des activités et excursions pour agrémenter leur séjour et découvrir la région.

Cependant, avec un peu de préparation, il est possible de découvrir une faune et une flore très riches et de vivre des moments rares et exceptionnels dans une nature préservée et authentique. L’Hôtel Tara-Mé peut vous mettre en contact avec certaines organisations en fonction de vos attentes.

PÊCHE SPORTIVE

Le Gabon est un pays réputé pour la pêche sportive et ses gros poissons. Depuis Port-Gentil, il est possible de pratiquer différentes techniques (traîne, lancer, palangrotte, surfcasting, jig, mouche, …) et de s’attaquer à une multitude d’espèces selon la saison : marlin bleu, espadon voilier, coryphène, wahoo, thon jaune, bonites en saison sèche ; tarpon, carpe rouge, barracuda, carangue, mérou, sériole, pagre, otholite, capitaine, … toute l’année.

L’Hôtel Tara-Mé propose des sorties en mer et rivière et peut vous mettre en contact avec les organisations de pêche de la région pour accéder à des lagunes mythiques de la pêche sportive comme Olende, Iguela, Sette Cama, …

BALLADE EN BATEAU

L’Hôtel Tara-Mé vous propose des sorties en bateau à la découverte des dauphins et baleines à bosse qui nagent en abondance à partir du mois de juin et jusqu’au retour de la saison des pluies. Avec un peu de chance, vous aurez peut-être l’occasion de croiser le passage des orques.

LOCATION MATÉRIEL SPORTIF

L’Hôtel Tara-Mé dispose d’équipements sportifs à la location : raquettes de tennis et de squash, sac de golf avec série complète, planche de body board, équipement de plongée et chasse sous marine, …

NATURE ET DÉCOUVERTE

Avec ses 13 parcs nationaux d’une grande richesse, le gouvernement Gabonais encourage la protection de son environnement et la préservation de sa biodiversité. Historiquement, le tourisme eu du mal à se développer en raison de manque d’infrastructures et de moyens logistique ainsi que du cout élevé des transports et des difficultés à obtenir un visa. L’irrégularité et le manque de fiabilité des structures d’accueil ne viennent pas simplifier les démarches.

GABON